Open House at The Vancouver Burlesque Centre

There is no greater feeling than when the buzz in a room is created by the combination of giddiness, pride, and the satisfaction of a job well done.

Friday night I attended the opening party for the new Vancouver Burlesque Centre. The space is simple but it doesn’t need to be anything more than it already is. It consists of a reception/sitting area, the studio itself, and a maze of back rooms used for storage and workspace. I think it was the first time I’d seen a sewing machine and a mitre saw within ten feet of each other. Lola Frost, Burgundy Brixx, and Cherry OnTop made incredible hostesses. A little bar in the corner served drinks, a DJ spun, and Burgundy made the rounds with home-baked “boobie cookies”.

Boobie Cookies

Rather than write my typical “review” let me just say this:

It is hard for me to explain just how much these ladies have come to mean to me in the time that I have known them, Lola especially. It has been less than a year since we first met, and I am still very much only an interested observer in their world but I am happy and proud to regard them as friends. For my part, I have come to rely on them for daily reminders that the changes I made in my life have been good ones.

Cherry leads an interactive dance demonstration while Burgundy and Lola look on

I am intensely proud of all of them, not just those involved with the Centre, but all those who have chosen a path different from the norm, who exude passion and love, while still maintaining the cut-throat drive of the most jaded captains of industry. I wish them all the love and luck for the future of their project that I can possibly muster.

Miss Cherry OnTop with, well, a cherry on top. Photo credit: A slightly tipsy Lola Frost.

Leave a Reply

