The A-Team always had a plan…

“I love it when a plan comes together.” Anyone over 30 knows exactly what that means. It was the catch phrase of the cigar-chomping Hannibal Smith, leader of the illustrious A-Team. It’s good to have a plan. Plans are important. If you’re sitting at home, wearing your pjs all day, and wondering what you should do right “NOW,” make a plan.

Even if you’re doing something as seemingly simple as buying curtains or shoes, it’s still a good idea to have a plan. Know what you want and put it down on paper. This way you are less likely to be swayed or diverted from the path to true curtain bliss. Okay, maybe curtains aren’t the best example but what do you do if you get to the store and they don’t have the curtains you want? If you know what you want, you are far more likely to either find the curtains you want or adapt another, similar, set to your needs. 

This is why it is always a good idea to have a plan.

There is something to be said for spontaneity but if you’re not prepared for your knee-jerk adventure, bad things might happen. Years ago, I stormed out the door to drive to just south of Hope, BC, to follow in the footsteps of Jack Kerouac and his adventures on Desolation Peak. It was a very spontaneous, “Beat” thing to do. When I got there I’d forgotten my mosquito spray and had to suffer eight hours of buzzing and mosquito bites. It was a long eight hours that was only interrupted by the sheer terror of a random encounter with a large Black bear because I’d forgotten my bear bell too.

My new year will hopefully be packed full of new adventures and old pleasures rediscovered. For this to happen, I will need a plan. I want great things to happen this year and must work hard and honestly to make them a lasting experience. That which I desire, that which I adore, can be mine but only if I am willing to put the effort in, and stuff it in as far as it will go!

It should be a very good year but only the future will know for sure and only a half decent plan will get me there. Hell, I might even learn Spanish. There are bound to be moments when it is definitely worth while.

I’ll add it to the list. Nothing is quite so enjoyable as when a plan “comes together.”

One thought on “The A-Team always had a plan…

  1. I bought curtains just the day before yesterday and totally winged it. I am quite content with it all. Also, suggest me some new music. And go.

Leave a Reply

