Christmas Miracles – If I could be anyone…

If  could be anyone, I’d still be me but I might ask for a larger bank account and a swimming pool w/ hot tub. However, if I couldn’t be me, here’s three alternatives off the top of my head that I could probably live with.

#1) The guy in this picture: Anthony Bourdain

If you could travel the world, writing books, eating good food, smoking and drinking, and get paid for it, why wouldn’t you?

#2) The guy who took this picture: Unknown

Apart from the obvious reasons, this girl having an amazing looking body probably being my first, I’d like to have taken this picture so that I could have seen the model’s face. It is very likely the picture was taken to highlight her tattoos and figure but women should always have faces. Crumb got himself in hot water for letting his misogyny show by drawing headless women. My father once brought back a painting from a business trip; it depicted three, pregnant, faceless women. My mother hated it. She felt it was far too representative of the culture from which it came, a culture whose views on women my mother most certainly did not share. When my father passed away, the painting quietly disappeared.

#3) Either the person who took this photo or the person in it.

I think the reasons for this are rather straightforward. To see the Earth with no borders or fences, or the need for them, would be a Christmas gift indeed.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Miracles – If I could be anyone…

Leave a Reply

