What do the R.M.S. Titanic and Rock Band/Guitar Hero have in common?

Right about the time Captain Edward Smith’s feet were starting to get a little damp and very cold, he probably didn’t think, “If this was a video game, this wouldn’t be happening right now.” I, on the other hand, would be tempted. Dick Scobee, commander of the ill-fated Challenger mission, was recorded as saying, “Oh oh” right before the shuttle was lost. I, on the other hand, would have been more colourful.

Why? I am not a seasoned sea captain, nor am I a NASA astronaught. These men are trained to deal with hardship. Unfortunately, both of them met their death in situations that, at the moment of catastrophic failure, were beyond their control. I, on the other hand, can do something about the catastrophic failure facing my lifestyle and my friends: I can hate video games.

Sure they’re fun. But I can’t get over my petty hatred for them. For a video game to inspire a resurgance in the appreaciation of Rock and Roll music is good, but these kids aren’t buying guitars; they’re buying more goddamned video games! Much as the Harry Potter series got kids reading and made happy that it had, I was then disappointed that these kids didn’t move on to Tolstoy and Ondaatje, rather Twillight and Inkheart.

So, call me a dinosaur. Kids will think what we do is cool in 100 million years.

Close my venues. Trivialize our talent. Blow me.

I’m going down with the ship because the band will play on. And if enough of us join in on the bailing effort, we just might save the ship.

. . . _ _ _ . . .

. . . _ _ _ . . .

. . . _ _ _ . . .

. . . _ _ _ . . .

. . . _ _ _ . . .

One thought on “What do the R.M.S. Titanic and Rock Band/Guitar Hero have in common?

Leave a Reply

