Well, I suppose we all knew this was bound to happen

My heart grows stronger everyday in every way it can. The problem some people have with happiness is that, all too often, it is fleeting. Such is the case with me, again. But people who get angry when happiness leaves them are misguided. At times like this, I could be tempted to retrace my steps and dwell once more in a world where pain and destruction were all that was expected from me. Never again.

When happiness leaves you, there should be a residual for you to hold to: the happiness of knowing you can be happy. Personally, I think the Dalai Lama and his feudalistic theocratic monarchy in exile can go fuck themselves with their prayer beads, but there is one thing his holiness expressed that I do agree with: Worrying is a wasted action. If you can change it, worrying about it is just wasting time that could be spent changing it. If you can’t change it, worrying is again a waste of time. So I ran. I run almost everyday but today I didn’t choose the upbeat indie pop I often jog to. Today I ran listening to Metallica at their angriest. As I sweated, and they howled, their anger made mine unnecessary and I could smile as the sweat ran down my face. My heart grows stronger everyday in every way it can.

With that being said, maybe the Lamas, Mullahs, Popes, and Rabbis could pass these sentiments along to their betters:

“I am a rock; I am an island.” ~ Simon & Garfunkle

“You can’t break me; I’m stronger than stone.” ~ The Stumblers Inn

“‘Tis better to have loved and lost / Than never to have loved at all.” ~ Alfred, Lord Tennyson

“Far better is it to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs even though checked by failure, than to rank with with those poor spirits who neither enjoy nor suffer much because they live in the gray twillight that knows neither victory nor defeat.” ~ Theodore Roosevelt

Oh, one more thing:

“Bring it on motherfuckers. No quarter will be asked nor given.” ~ Baron S. Cameron, The Loudmouth Bear

Attack

Leave a Reply

