Holy Shit! That was easy.

I just discovered how easy it is to get to sleep at night if you actually DO something during the day. Yesterday, I woke up quite early to let my dog out. I figured that while I was up I might as well stay up. I sat down at my typewriter and began smashing away at the keys. Luckily for the others in the house, the feet of my typewriter sit on shock absorbing pads to stop my desk from resonating like a kettle drum with every keystroke.

I managed to do about two hours of straight writing and then realized I still had a whole day left. I went down to the beach to shoot some video for a project I’m currently developing. I also managed to get a wee bit of a tan and drop off a copy or Hermann Hesse’s essay, “On Little Joys” to a friend who was going to deliver it to her father for me. After that I sat poolside for the whopping five minutes before heading back down to the beach to take a swim.

Came home, wrote some more, then had dinner. Didn’t watch “House” and went to bed at 11:55pm.

This whole “awake during the day” gig might just work. I’ll keep you posted.

lazybear

Leave a Reply

